Preserving the Legacy of My Grandfather, Ignatz Waghalter

By David Waghalter Green

“For me, the recovery of Waghalter’s music has made possible, in a profoundly personal sense, a deeper understanding of my grandfather. His music reveals a man of intense and fluctuating emotions. Despite all the difficulties that he encountered in his life, Waghalter’s view of the world was essentially optimistic, hopeful and idealistic.”

Read more »

Stay up-to-date

Sign up to get notified when there are updates to this website. We will regularly post new material related to Waghalter and his times.


Welcome to

This purpose of this web site is to reawaken interest in the life and work of Ignatz Waghalter (1881-1949), the Polish-German and Jewish composer and conductor who has recently been described as “one of the most unjustly forgotten musicians of interwar Europe.”

Drawing upon a substantial archive of written documents, musical scores, photographs, old recordings and press clippings – which Waghalter himself managed to save when he fled Europe in 1937 – this site will make available to readers and researchers remarkable material relating to both to Waghalter and the times in which he lived.

This site will also keep viewers informed about events and developments in the unfolding story of the rediscovery of Waghalter’s extraordinary legacy as a composer, conductor, writer and politically-engaged artist.